The Dirty Stall

Tokyo 2009: Steak House Satou

Posted on: January 12, 2010

You’ve all heard of normal wagyu beef but the 3 best wagyu producing regions are the Matsusaka, Kobe and Yonezawa. Of these 3 regions, the one that most beef lovers agree is the best would be wagyu coming from the Matsusaka prefecture in Mie.

Doing some research on the internets, I found out from a site called Paul’s Travel Pics that the best place to try some of this Matsusaka beef was at Steak House Satou, located in Kichijoji.

Below, you can see people queuing up from some grilled wagyu meatballs, hugely popular. The queue grew to triple that length while I was eating

Storefront

This is the entrance to the restaurant upstairs, it’s quite small and easy to miss.

Entrance

Super narrow and steep staircase up

Narrow and steep staircase

Counter setting

Counter

A look at the very small interior. I’m already sitting at the extreme end of the restaurant.

Interior

Here are the busy chefs working in the tiny open-air kitchen to make beef teppanyaki for the customers. It’s hard to imagine having 4 chefs for such a small restaurant!

Kitchen

Preparing the steaks

Covering the steaks

And finally the Tokusen sirloin set that I have been waiting for, 180 grams of glorious Matsusaka grade A5 beef!! :D

What can I say that hasn’t been said about Matsusaka beef already? The dense marbling of fat in the meat makes it so succulent and juicy when they cook it, and it is really so soft and tender like tofu that when you put it in your mouth and press your tongue on it, all the beefy flavour explodes in your mouth.

There must have been such an orgasmic expression on my face because the manager was so impressed that he had to give me his name card!

Tokusen sirloin set

A closer look at the steak. Costs only 8,400yen here but the manager told me that at other restaurants it would be around 20,000 yen.

Closeup of sirloin steak

サトウ吉祥寺店 (Steak House Satou)
1-1-8 Kichijoji-Honcho, Musashino-shi, Tokyo

10 Responses to "Tokyo 2009: Steak House Satou"

I need to line up a trip to Japan. Stat.

Hahaha make that the same for me too! I really want to go back and eat there again.

Nice post! I really like your posting.
i will come back to read more of your posts.
Nice Pic

Cheers

Hey thanks for the comment! I’m glad you like my blog and hope you will enjoy the other posts :D

Great article, thanks!

No problem, I hope it was useful for you :D

[...] since I’m in Tokyo once again. I’ve blogged about the steakhouse in greater detail in a previous post which you can read so I won’t go through the whole thing [...]

[...] but the reviews say I should start lining up at 7:30AM for. Another is a Japanese steak restaurant, Steak House Satou in Kichijoji which is only 30 minutes away and only a few stops away on the Chuo line (on the way [...]

I just got back from Steak House Satou. There were only five customers at 6PM on a Wednesday and there was a line like in your picture but it was for the store downstairs. I heard the line for the restaurant on the weekends, especially for lunch, is that long. During the week it’s not bad at all.

I had to comment on the steak. It’s ¥10,000 now and worth every bit of it! I almost skipped it, but I’m glad I didn’t.

[…] hit for dinner – Yamatake Shoten. Yamatake is a beef farmer and also a restaurant, much like Steakhouse Satou in Kichijoji, so similarly here we get to enjoy delicious Hida beef at relatively cheap […]

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

