The Dirty Stall

The Sushi Bar

Posted on: December 14, 2013

The Sushi Bar pretty much says it all in their name already: they’re here to serve us sushi!

_C222519

They’ve gone no-frills in order to serve us better quality sushi (and other dishes) at a decent price. Sadly this means that service is somewhat lacking – it can take forever to get the attention of a wait staff.

_C222520

Their sirloin steak is seared nicely – I just wish the slices weren’t so thin!

_C222528

Anago was decent as well, but I still prefer the Edo-mae two style preparation of anago. Not something I’d really bother to order again unless I really like anago.

_C222527

Aburi salmon and soft-shell crab maki. I always order this when I’m here, it’s like a substitute for the makis from Koh Grill & Sushi Bar since the queues there are ridiculous now.

_C222526

This was their premium chirashi, chockful of fresh sashimi of the day. I would have loved it, but my experience was marred by the extremely stale squid, which kinda put me off the Sushi Bar for some time.

_C222525

I’ve been back a couple of other times and tried other stuff like their mentaiko hotate carpaccio, which is also pretty good, so I guess I just have a phobia for their chiraishi now, even though other Sushi-Bar-loving friends have told me that their normal chiraishi is better and more value for money.

Overall, still a good place to get your Japanese fix but I heard the crowds have been swarming this place so I’m gonna give it a miss for a while till the crazy hype dies down. (Or maybe it never will, like the old Wasabi Tei at level 5).

The Sushi Bar
14 Scotts Road
Far East Plaza, #03-89
Singapore 228213
Phone: 9653 6464
Mon-Fri: 12:30 – 15:00, 17:30 – 21:00
Sat: 12:30 – 21:00

2 Responses to "The Sushi Bar"

Edo-mae two style preparation of anago is not in this league lol. :P

Hahaha that’s why I don’t order anago outside usually :P

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

