The Dirty Stall

Teroo’s Beer Review #2 – Asahi Super Dry

Posted on: August 7, 2009

It has been about a week since my last review.  It’s raining outside.  What better to do on a rainy day than drink beer?

This time I am going to try Asahi Super Dry.
Asahi is the leading beer company in Japan.  While I am fearful of trying a popular beer, I will always keep an open mind of what I am going to be drinking.

08-07-09_1638

Asahi means “Morning Sun” in Japanese.  This shows right out of the bottle. It is a nice golden/bright brown color.   There is very little head, and very little aroma from it.
The little aroma it has is malty with a slight hops smell.

08-07-09_1639

My first sip of it was pretty underwhelming.  It is not very sophisticated and has a slight grainy taste.
After a few sips, I no longer taste much of it and ends up feeling like I am drinking carbonated water.
It however, is not all bad, this beer feels light in the stomach and does not have an overpowering taste.

Overall, this would be a great beer to have with a large meal.
It brings to mind something that would be good to drink when eating a large meal.
This beer would also be fantastic if I was just drinking to have a good time.

Grade: C-
Probably about average as beer goes.  I would love to drink this during a casual get together or during a large Asian meal.

08-07-09_1702

Tags:

2 Responses to "Teroo’s Beer Review #2 – Asahi Super Dry"

It does look kinda light. I guess it tastes light and flat as well.

I never liked Asian beers.

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

