The Dirty Stall

Foods of Vancouver

Posted on: September 11, 2009

Sorry for the poor quality of the pictures.  They were taken with my phone and I had to reduce the quality of the image in order to store them all.  I don’t have an expanded memory device for my Blackberry yet, but I think pictures have enough detail in them.

The food is separated according to which day/course they belonged too.  This isn’t everything I had on my trip, some of the foods were ordered again another night (what can I say?  My family likes to eat certain dishes), or I couldn’t hold up a table of 12 people just so I can take a picture.  So without further delays, I give you Foods of Vancouver.

Day 1

Tie Guan Tin Oolong Tea
This is Tie Guan Yin oolong tea, which is my favorite.

Soup
I can’t remember what kind of soup this was, I know it had minced beef in it, but I can’t remember the other ingredients.  Nevertheless, it was satisfactory enough.

Course 1
The second course was a vegan dish made with mushrooms and string beans.

Dish 2
My favorite course of the night was the roasted chicken, which was apparently marinated in tea (according to my aunt).  Very juicy and tender.

Dish 3
Fairly simple shrimp dish.  Not very inspired.

Dish 4
Another vegan dish made entirely with different species of fungus — more specifically a wide variety of mushrooms.

Dish 5
This is a beef dish made with green onions and ginger.

Dish 7
Westernized Chinese food.  The Chinese take on honey garlic pork ribs, which are cut into bit size pieces.  They were very good (apparently it has become a favorite for my family in Vancouver because it was ordered again on another night), but it is deep fried and not very healthy, so I didn’t have that many.

Dish 7
This is suppose to be the chief’s specialty: fried rice with peas, scrambled eggs and dried scallops.  I didn’t think it was very good because the dish was extremely dry.

Dish 8
I really enjoyed the oyster hot pot (I think I ate half of the oysters in there), but unfortunately, it was the last course of the night and I was already close to being full, so I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as I would have if it was served earlier.

Dessert
Typical Chinese dessert — a red bean thingy.  I never liked it, but here is the picture of it anyways.

Day 2
Alright, so I didn’t take any pictures of the dinner I had the second night because I didn’t want to make the entire table to wait for me to take one of all the food (we ordered a 16 course meal or something crazy like that).  Plus it was late, and people were hungry, including myself.  However, my aunt and uncle took my sisters and I to the night market in Richmond later and I got some food there, but I only remembered to take a picture of one thing, which turned out to be the WORST chow mein I have ever had in my life.

So, here is the story.  The night market closes at 12AM every night (except on Sundays, they close at 11PM), and the food vendors, in order to maximize profit, sell their food at a cheaper price so it doesn’t go to waste.  We arrived there a bit late (around 10:30PM-ish) and looked at the merchant stuff first before we hit the food stalls.  So at about 30-40 minutes before closing time, the vendors start to drop the price.  It just so happened that my family and I were standing there just as this one stand is offering cheaper food.

I mean, this guy was REALLY pushing his food.  He’d fill up a bowl of this chow mein and would yell at the top of his lungs and at an incredibly fast speed that I didn’t think Asians were capable of: “CHOW MEIN CHOW MINE ONE DOLLAH ONE DOLLAH ONE DOLLAH”.  Who could resist?!  Turns out that this shit had been sitting under the heat lamp all day, had some cheap ass sauce poured on it and… well… it was just the worst.  So I present to you… CHOW MEIN FOR ONE DOLLAH!

IMG00052
Sorry for the blurry image, we were walking and this was taken on my phone.

Day 3
Went for late night Chinese fondue (hot pot) after we came back from Seattle.

Hot pot 1
The chicken stock broth we cooked everything in.  It was so delicious after a few hours of cooking everything in there.  I ate an over abundance of food that night!  At the bottom right of the picture, in front of the tea cup, is a bowl of sate sauce, which is what you would dip the food in after you’ve cooked it and fished it out of the broth.

Hot pot 2
Just a sample of what we ordered.  To give you an idea of how much we got, this wasn’t placed on our table.  The waiters brought out a separate 3 shelf rack to place all the food on.  Some of the food we got were beef tongue, beef tripe, mushrooms, udon, lamb, pig’s blood, pig intestine, fish balls, pork balls, beef balls, chicken, pig’s skin etc.

Hot pot 3
The food in the hot pot.

Day 4 – Lunch
I was pretty sick of Chinese food by now, so my aunt took my sister and I to a Thai place across the street from Metro Town in Burnaby called the Green Basil.

Thai soup
I forget how the soup was.

Thai app
Spring rolls and salad.  Nothing really stood out, but I was relieved to be able to have an actual salad.

Thai lettuce wrap
The Thai chicken lettuce wrap was the best dish I had at the Green Basil.  It is similar to the Chinese version in terms of texture, the lettuce and bell peppers giving ot a nice crispy feel, but the sauce that the restaurant used gave it a mild tangy taste that was not overwhelming, nor was it too subtle.
Thai main course
The main course for lunch (for me) was a red and thick beef curry served with jasmine rice.  I was really disappointed with it because on the menu it had two peppers beside the dish to indicate that it was suppose to be extraordinarily spicy.  This curry was far from what was advertised, it didn’t make my tongue tingle at all.  I guess they try to cater to the majority of people who can’t stand insanely hot foods the way that I can.

Day 4 – Dinner
Just two dishes, most of the meal were dishes we had from day 1.  I also forgot to take a picture of the soup (crab meat and fish stomach soup), and the first couple of courses, so I decided to just take pictures of two of the more unique dishes.

Fish
Steamed fish, Chinese style!  I don’t know what kind of fish it is, but it was good!

Crab
And of course, no visit to Vancouver would be complete without a crab or two (thanks grandpa!).  I love eating the stuff inside the head of the crab, like all the innards and stuff.

Misc.

SUSHI FUCKER
Just for you DiscoAsian.  Love, Sushi Fucker.  These were really gross by the way; the worst sushi I have ever had.

Well that does it.  I don’t think anyone here has managed to rack up over a thousand word count in their food posts.  I am one wordy mofo.  Enjoy this last picture.

Mojo <3
Her name is Mojo and she loves me <3.

2 Responses to "Foods of Vancouver"

That is a lot of chinese food. Is it rare in Canada?

Depends on the city, but it’s not rare. Like, here in Edmonton, Chinese restaurants are hard to find because they’re spread out all over the city. Good Chinese restaurants are even harder to find on top of that.

In Vancouver, every other restaurant is a Chinese restaurant and in the Richmond area it’s nothing BUT Chinese restaurants.

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

