The Dirty Stall

The Return of Ned Teroo’s Beer Review — #4 Warsteiner Dunkel

Posted on: October 4, 2009

Today is the last day of Oktoberfest, a sixteen day festival to celebrate the marriage of Prince Ludwig and Princess Therese of Saxe-Hildburghausen.  The first Oktoberfest was held in 1810, and was so awesome that it has been held every year since, except wasnt held in 1811 because Napoleon was a douchebag.
o22_20412917
To celebrate how amazing this wedding was, the Germans get together every year, throw a massive party, drink lots of beer and eat lots of meat.  Pretty much just an awesome time all around.

So to celebrate my German ancestry and my love of beer, I have decided to do a beer review  of Warsteiner Dunkel.
001_1124

Warsteiner Dunkel is a German beer made in the town of Warstein.  A dunkel is a German dark beer… literally.  Dunkel means Dark in German, and are usually characterized by their dark amber to brown color and smooth malty taste.

Warsteiner dunkel is dark brown, and ends up being almost black.  It had a nice head on it that stuck around long enough for me to take my first sip, and left a nice lacing on the side of the glass.

The odor of the beer is one of malt with a slight smell of hops.  Not very complex to me otherwise.

The taste is very smooth and not bitter at all.  Not sure if I could drink a ton of these though, fills up my stomach pretty well.

Over all, I enjoyed this beer.  It is not very complex, but it has a nice, smooth taste.  Would be great in a large cup, haunch of meat in my hand, and wench at my side.

Grade: B

001_1126

2 Responses to "The Return of Ned Teroo’s Beer Review — #4 Warsteiner Dunkel"

This is the best post because of boobs

Sweet Jiminy Christ, Jingwen! I thought those were penises!

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

