The Dirty Stall

Omakase dinner at Nagomi

Posted on: October 12, 2009

Great omakase dinner at Nagomi, which is a small and hidden Japanese eatery at Cuppage Plaza. The chef Nada Satoru used to have a normal menu but he changed it into an omakase menu based on the fresh and seasonal ingredients from Japan.

The place is dimly lit and you have to remove your shoes when you enter. There aren’t many seats, just a counter table of about 8 seats and about 4 tables. The ambiance is definitely cozy and it feels very traditional.

P1000575

Appetizer: Mategai and daikon

The appetizer was bamboo clams and grated radish. If the chef didn’t tell me it was bamboo clams I would have thought it was cuttlefish.

P1000581

1st course: Tofu salad

Basically sliced tofu with a bunch of veggies and some avocado and tomatoes. Nothing really special actually but the sauce was very nice and really made the whole dish come together. The tofu was also quite firm too.

P1000582

2nd course: Sashimi moriawase

From left to right: uni, hotate, kanpachi, maguro, shima-aji, kinmedai

Fresh and delectable sashimi, this was the first time I had kinmedai which is also known as alfonsino. The uni was especially nice and it had that salty taste that reminds you of the sea breeze.

P1000583

3rd course: Takabe shio yaki

This is a fish that is now in season in Japan. It was salt-grilled as a whole fish and the flesh was just so sweet, tender and fresh. Almost like it was just caught moments ago!

P1000587

4th course: Braised kurobuta belly

This is the black pork belly, braised until the fats were so soft as to melt in your mouth. Very tasty but a bit too rich to eat so much of it. Reminded me of buta no kakuni.

P1000591

5th course: Wagyu teppenyaki

This was the highlight of the dinner for me. Succulent slices of tender wagyu beef (imported from USA) that were grilled just nice. The chef instructed me to sprinkle the accompanying lime salt over the beef slices and the combination was amazing.

They tasted great with the marbled fats just melting away in my mouth with that grilled taste and because the wagyu slices were not pre-marinated much, so the lime salt added the right amount of saltiness to it.

P1000596

6th course: Porridge

This is a simple yet exceptionally tasty porridge. It was simmered at low heat and actually more like soup rice than a real porridge. It came with peppered chicken and egg inside and seaweed was sprinkled on top. Great way to fill up the stomach at the end!

P1000599

Dessert: Yuzu ice-cream

To round off the omakase, we get the usual yuzu ice-cream as dessert. It is fast becoming one of my favourite ice-creams to have now. The taste is so uniquely citrus and refreshing.

P1000603

8 Responses to "Omakase dinner at Nagomi"

Great post =) And I totally agree with what you said for the yuzu ice cream!

Thanks! And yeah, now I always want to have yuzu ice-cream whenever the restaurant serves it! Btw if you want good yuzu, try it at the Standing Sushi Bar!

What a coincidence, I went to SSB last fri wanting to try their omakase but they told me I needed to reserve it in advance so I left without trying anything.. Do you like SSB?

Yeah I love the omakase at the SSB! I’ve done quite a number of reviews on their omakase and you can check them out here: https://dirtystall.wordpress.com/tag/standing-sushi-bar/

The main reason why you need a reservation for the omakase is because some of the food in it needs to be prepared many hours in advance. They also run a tight ship for fresh stuff so they buy on demand with regards to omakase reservations.

Wow, I can see that you really love SSB’s omakase! And no wonder too, the food looks awesome. Can I just copy down what you had and tell the chef I want them too haha.

Oh ya, I forgot to add that I’ve actually commented on one of your SSB’s post before and it’s your post that made me go to SSB the other day! But sigh, I didn’t know that reservation for omakase is required =(

[…] This is my 2nd time eating at Nagomi and it’s still as good as the 1st time I visited them a year back. Very good for small intimate dinners or gatherings, and for those who want that authentic Japanese […]

[…] still as good. I’m not gonna say that much about Nagomi as you can read my previous two posts here and here, so this will mainly be a simple […]

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

