The Dirty Stall

Songfa Bak Kut Teh

Posted on: August 24, 2010

On a cold and drizzling morning, I was walking around the Clarke Quay area after running some errands when my stomach started to growl.

Luckily, I remembered that Songfa Bak Kut Teh was nearby, so I made my way across to New Bridge Road where I found a seat quickly and ordered the standard pork ribs with a bowl of ribs. I also added a side order of you tiao.

The interior is done up in traditional furnishings to give you that old school feeling but yet it is clean and modern underneath.

Of course you wish for it, they still provide the tea which used to traditionally accompany the bak kut teh.

When the bak kut teh arrived, I quickly dug into them, the tender meat coming off the bones easily. The soup is peppery and savory, and you can taste the strong weight of the garlic and herbs.

After finishing the rice, I used the pieces of you tiao to mop up any remaining soup. What a great meal to warm myself up on a cold day!

Songfa Bak Kut Teh
11 New Bridge Road
#01-01
Open: Daily 7am – 10pm (except Mon)

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

