The Dirty Stall

Kok Sen Coffee Shop

Posted on: April 16, 2011

Kok Sen Coffee Shop is a very ordinary old coffee shop along Keong Saik Road and it’s a place we settled on for a weekend lunch as my family used to come here a lot in the old days.

An interesting fact I learned is that my family is actually distantly related to the owners of Kok Sen but loss of contact over the generations means we don’t know each other anymore.

Kok Sen is really more of a zi char stall rather than a coffeeshop, despite its name.

This is one of Kok Sen’s specialties – the “crispy skin golden dragon chicken”, literally.

Salted fish fried rice, a staple of zi char stalls and Kok Sen does a pretty good rendition of it, but I’ve tasted others which had more oomph.

Fish soup, I didn’t like this too much because I felt it was a bit on the bland side and tasting too strong of the vegetables that they cooked inside. A bit more like vegetable soup than fish soup!

And this was what we came here for, the “golden dragon chicken”. I remember always getting to eat this as wedding dinners when I was a kid but I don’t think they serve it at weddings these days.

It’s basically a chicken that’s been “de-chickened”, leaving only the skin which is then filled with squid paste and then flattened. Later on they grill or fry it to a crisp and the result is paper-thin crispy skin with a savoury filling inside that’s a delight to eat.

Except that it isn’t cheap to order this nowadays. But once in a while it’s worth eating this for the taste and memories🙂

This is a pretty popular place in Chinatown so be ready to wait at the peak periods. It’s definitely worth trying some of their other dishes too, like the beef horfun or the three eggs vegetables.

Kok Sen Coffee Shop
30 Keong Saik Road
Tel: +65 6223 2005
Opening Hours: Daily 11.30am–2.30pm, 6pm–10.30pm
(Closed on Mon)

3 Responses to "Kok Sen Coffee Shop"

I used to work for 2 yrs just a few doors away from kok seng and ate there for lunch tons of times! Their prawn paste chicken is v nice and three egg veggie! I can still remember the taste of those veggies…

Haha yeah I’ve got to try the prawn paste chicken the next time I’m there. heard good things about that dish from other ppl too!

Haha, I just had lunch last week there.

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

