The Dirty Stall

Phở Bò

Posted on: December 5, 2011

A friend was telling me about a craving for Vietnamese food (you know who you are!) and I got influenced to give it a try too, so I went to have some phở bò which seemed a good way to get started in Vietnamese food.

I quite liked the subtle flavours in the clear meat broth so I decided that it would be interesting to see if I could cook the dish at home for lunch. The recipe I followed was from Steamy Kitchen, which was adapted from Into the Vietnamese Kitchen by Andrea Nguyen.

I first char-grilled an onion and some ginger to provide that charred sweetness and some heat into the broth.

Then I prepared the spices and seasonings. Here we have typical phở spices: cinnamon, star anise, fennel seeds, cloves, coriander seeds and cardamom pods.

Salt, sugar and fish sauce.

Some beef bones and brisket for making the stock

Gotta keep skimming the scum off the stock

Here’s the beef brisket after a long time of stewing in the stock and taken out for shredding

And these are the beef slices. Ideally you should slice it yourself from a slab of sirloin but I didn’t have the time so I just grabbed some shabu-shabu beef slices.

Arranging all the beef in the bowls before pouring over the hot stock

And here’s my attempt at making phở bò!

2 Responses to "Phở Bò"

wow this soup looks delish. I just posted my 1st attempt yesterday at chinese soup! With this winter a soup is the best way 2 go.

[…] been slowly getting interested in Vietnamese food, after making my own phở bò previously, so when I heard about Nam Nam Noodle Bar opening up, I was quite interested to try it […]

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

