The Dirty Stall

Shuhaku

Posted on: July 17, 2013

This post on Shuhaku isn’t even going to be a proper review, for 2 reasons:

  • the food, while decent, didn’t really tickle my tastebuds so I don’t remember it that well.
  • the chef didn’t speak a shred of English and the menu he gave me was completely in Japanese too. Some of the food was obvious from sight though, but the cooking method was not so clear.

_5184781

But why did I go to Shuhaku in the first place? Mainly because I was conned by the good reviews and photos about the place.

_5184783

In all honesty I cannot think of anything good to say about Shuhaku except that the food was cooked well but I didn’t like it.

Not to mention that the interior was hot & stuffy, made exceptionally worse when they started cooking the rice in a pot over a charcoal fire…indoors! That made it feel like PSI 300 inside and my clothes really stank after that.

But of course this is simply my view of Shuhaku which seems to run counter to the experience of others.

_5184787

That said,  chef Yoshida of Shuhaku does have some classical French training and you can see his application of it in some of dishes and desserts.

_5184789

A tempura medley of vegetables, which was decent. The tempura batter was extremely light and crisp.

_5184792

Some sort of green pea soup with fish which was good but I don’t like green peas so overall didn’t like this.

_5184795

Sashimi of tai

_5184796

An interesting amalgamation of salmon, squid and vegetables, with some jelly at the ends.

_5184797

Octopus, with abalone and abalone jelly. This was probably my favourite dish out of the whole course.

_5184799

More squid sashimi, quite fresh this.

_5184801

A gently deep fried fish to be eaten whole, body and bones alike.

_5184802

Grilled baby bamboo shoot (takenoko)

_5184804

Grilled unagi and a grilled tomato stuffed with jelly cubes.

_5184805

Rice dish that my nose and lungs suffered for.

_5184806

Desserts was interesting because you get to pick 2 dishes out of this lineup, and the fruit bowl.

_5184807

_5184808

I went for these 2, some sort of cream wafer and strawberries with vanilla ice-cream.

_5184811

修伯 (Shuhaku)

1 Response to "Shuhaku"

[…] of awabi and a small chunk of awabi kimo (liver). Very soft and tender, much like the one I had at Shuhaku but I think with better and stronger […]

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

