The Dirty Stall

Tempura Tsunahachi

Posted on: September 24, 2013

There are a number of tempura establishments with a long history in Shinjuku, and I had already been to one of them, Funabashiya Honten, quite some time ago and I really liked it.

This time around, I wanted to visit another tempura restaurant so I picked Tempura Tsunahachi, at their main store in Shinjuku.

_5235326

Tsunahachi also has a long history, as it was founded 90 years ago in 1923 and they’ve been around ever since, with their Shinjuku store opening in 1964.

_5235324

It still has some of that traditional bustling feel, despite being quite commercial now.

_5235313

I was ushered to the counter upstairs as the ground floor was completely packed at lunchtime.

_5235316

There, I was served by this female chef.

_5235311

A stack of glass bowls holds condiments for the tempura dishes. As usual, I preferred the green tea salt.

_5235318

I picked their Edomae Set for lunch.

_5235319

Kuruma-ebi, kisu, nasu (tiger prawn, sillago fish, eggplant)

_5235320

Squid, okra, and some kind of clam.

_5235321

Some sort of fruit juice as a palate cleanser, peach I think.

_5235322

Kakiage, anago (small shrimps, sea eel)

_5235323

As tempura goes, this was pretty good, but I felt that Funabashiya edged this out by just a bit. But that’s the thing about Tokyo – there are so many places to visit and try!

Tempura Tsunahachi

2 Responses to "Tempura Tsunahachi"

Hello, I chanced upon this post accidentally but i was very happy to learn about your feature on this tempura shop and i’ve also read your other posts🙂 having stayed in Tokyo for so long, I have never had the chance to try these places. If you don’t mind making new foodie friends, it would be great if we can meet up for a meal in Tokyo🙂

cheers,
Li Tian from dairycream.blogspot.com

Hi Li Tian, thanks for your comment! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed reading my posts and hopefully you’ll get to try some of the places I reviewed. Unfortunately I’m based in Singapore not Tokyo so I wouldn’t be able to meet you for a meal.

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

