The Dirty Stall

Mrs Pho

Posted on: May 4, 2016

I became a fan of Vietnamese food through Nam Nam but I’ve also heard quite a number of people say their dishes have been toned down for the Singaporean tastebuds, e.g. less herbs and spices.

DSCF2555

I know there are a couple of other pretty authentic and well-known Vietnamese places, but I’ve just been too lazy to visit them.

DSCF1933

However when I heard about Mrs Pho opening up at the Beach Road area, I felt that it would be a great opportunity for me to try a hopefully more authentic Vietnamese cuisine.

DSCF1937

Well it definitely didn’t disappoint!

DSCF2557

These meatballs are among some of the tastiest meatballs I’ve ever had. Supposed to be some secret family recipe but whatever the secret, it’s just really damn good. Must order every time I’m there!

DSCF2560

And of course the phở bò tái nạm is the iconic dish that I’m here for – well I don’t mean to sound like a broken record but it tastes pretty authentic to me (but I’ve never been to Vietnam so I can’t really say if it is or not).

DSCF2564

The broth is a lot richer in subtle flavours and less salty than the Nam Nam one, with more actual fresh herbs being added to the bowl. I’ve tried a couple of other dishes since this trip and while they’re not bad as well, I still prefer this dish the most!

Leave a Reply

Menu

Past dishes

