The Dirty Stall

Kagari

Posted on: December 4, 2015

Soba or ramen?

DSC00723

This place – Kagari – has a big sign upfront stating soba but they really seem to serve something that’s closer to ramen called chuka soba.

DSC00452

It’s located deep inside an alley between two buildings, pretty hard to spot if you didn’t know where it was already.

DSC00453

DSC00454

It’s also extremely tiny, seating only 8 people at a time.

DSC00457

Fried onion and grated ginger to accompany.

DSC00458

And this is what they’re famous for – their tori paitan ramen! Most ramen are pork-based so chicken-based ramen (like AFURI) is a rarity.

The broth is rich and creamy but not overwhelming – tastes a lot like those chicken collagen hot-pots but smoother.

It’s topped with fresh and crunchy vegetables, and thick semi-cooked chicken breast slices which are really tender. It’s a ramen experience quite unlike any other.

DSC00461

Highly recommended if you like ramen, and do go very early – I was first in queue and when I left, I saw this massive queue snaking around the building.

DSC00464

2 Responses to "Kagari"

Did you visit Japan again? Hahaha. I want to visit Japan with a friend who doesn’t eat pork, so I’ll check this place out if our travel plans do materialize.

Hahaha yes I did! Yeah I went to a couple of non-pork places so let me know if you need some more recommendations!

Leave a comment

Menu

Past dishes