The Dirty Stall

Kozasa

Posted on: November 16, 2015

Well, third time’s a charm with Kozasa. This was probably one of the best meals (and sushi) that I’ve had so far, with the exception of Saito of course. You can see my previous 2 meals here and here.

DSCF3167

Ika & tai sashimi. Very fresh.

DSCF3156

I was pretty excited when I saw him take out the uni because it was my first time having this dish here…

DSCF3183

And it was a huge chunk of the best uni i’ve ever eaten! For the first time I’m eating uni that doesn’t have that aftertaste, even after eating so much of it. Texture was firm and the taste was sweet and creamy. *insert typical superlatives about dying and going to heaven etc etc*

DSCF3157

Taking out a big piece of awabi to carve…

DSCF3161

Giving some awabi slices a quick sear on the broiler.

DSCF3159

Very soft and tender, with that slight crisp and subtle flavour on the outside from the quick grilling.

DSCF3160

Some aji sashimi. Good but nothing amazing.

DSCF3164

Finishing off the first half of the dinner with a plate of excellently grilled anago.

DSCF3169

And the sushi half of the dinner begins with kohada.

DSCF3175

Ika with a sprinkling of salt.

DSCF3178

Tai.

DSCF3180

Maguro-zuke.

DSCF3181

This time just the nitsuke broiled anago and not with its usual salted partner. Melts in your mouth.

DSCF3182

I didn’t expect him to give me the uni maki but he did so it was a great way to end the sushi course!

DSCF3185

And dinner ends with the customary tamago.

DSCF3186

Truly bliss – I’ll be back again for sure. It may not be super-amazing like Saito and its ilk but there’s something about the atmosphere and food at Kozasa that’s just so right for me.

1 Response to "Kozasa"

Leave a comment

Menu

Past dishes